Plenary Programme

Please note that all times listed below are according to Central European Time (CET).


10:30 am

Welcome to Building Bridges 2021 


Sierd Cloetingh, AE President, Distinguished Professor, University of Utrecht

10:45 am

Recap of Class meetings


Chairs of AE Classes: Poul Holm, A1-Humanities, Trinity College, Dublin; Bjorn Wittrock, A2-Social and Related Sciences, Swedish Collegium for Advanced Study; Don Dingwell B-Exact Sciences, Ludwig-Maximilians-University, Munich; Alexej Verkhratsky, C-Life Sciences, University of Manchester

11:15 am


11:45 am

Academia Europaea Erasmus Medal and Lecture, “Upside-Down: Revolutions in Physics, Old and New”


AE Erasmus Medallist: Sir Roger Penrose, Oxford University, and 2020 Nobel Laureate in Physics


Laudatio: Lord Martin Rees, Astronomer Royal, University of Cambridge


Introduction: Sierd Cloetingh, AE President

12:30 pm

Academia Europaea’s Gold Award: “Science, Scientific Publishing and Scientific Advice for Policy: 50 years of personal experiences”


Gold Award recipient: Ole Petersen, Cardiff University, AE Cardiff Knowledge Hub


Laudatio: Sierd Cloetingh, AE President

1:15 pm

Break for lunch

3:00 pm

Balzan Prize Lecture I: “The Amazon and Global Change”


2020 Balzan Prize Winner: Susan Trumbore, Max Planck Institute for Biogeochemistry


Chair: Sierd Cloetingh, AE President

3:45 pm

Barcelona 2021 speaker I: “Volcanism: from wonder and fear to experiment and intervention”


Don Dingwell, Ludwig-Maximilians-University, Munich and AE Munich Knowledge Hub


Chair: Sierd Cloetingh, AE President

4:30 pm

End of Day 1




9:30 am

AE Annual Business Meeting of AE members


Chair Sierd Cloetingh, AE President

10:45 am


11:30 am

Welcome and introduction from the new AE President


Marja Makarow, AE President-Elect, Professor, University of Helsinki, and Director, Biocenter Finland

11:45 am

Balzan Prize Lecture II: “How Should We Think About Freedom?”


2006 Balzan Prize Winner: Quentin Skinner, Queen Mary University of London

Chair: Bjorn Wittrock, Swedish Collegium for Advanced Study

12:15 pm

André Mischke YAE Prize 2021 for Science and Policy


André Mischke YAE Prize 2021 winner: Marian Verhelst, KU Leuven


Introduction: Gemma Modinos, Chair, Young Academy of Europe (YAE)


Laudatio: Arild Husby, Uppsala University

1:00 pm


2:30 pm

Young Academy of Europe (YAE) Panel: “Redefining Rewards & Recognitions for European Scholars”


Chair: Gemma Modinos, Chair, Young Academy of Europe (YAE)


Panellists: Michael Murphy, European University Association; Konstantinos Glinos, Unit for Open Science, European Commission; Rebecca Lawrence, F1000Research (TBC); Moniek Tromp, Vice-Chair, Young Academy of Europe (YAE).

3:45 pm

Barcelona 2021 speaker II: “The mysteries of memory: how it is stored (the engram) and how it is retrieved (the ecphory). How to erase, manipulate or cure memory loss”


Mara Dierssen, Centre for Genomic Regulation, Barcelona


Chair: Éva Kondorosi, Institute of Plant Biology, Biological Research Centre, Hungarian Academy of Sciences Centre of Excellence

4:20 pm

Close and farewell toast from outgoing President Sierd Cloetingh

4:30 pm

End of Building Bridges 2021